Sports News

MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#28
J.D. Martinez
AVG HR RBI
.206 5 22
Team: BostonHt / Wt: 6-3 / 230
Position: RFBorn: 8/21/1987 Birthplace: Miami, Florida
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 20th Round by Astros (2009)


Latest News
Sep. 17 1:46 PM PT2:46 PM MT3:46 PM CT4:46 PM ET16:46 ET20:46 GMT4:46 1:46 PM MST3:46 PM EST2:46 PM CST4:16 PM VEN0:46 UAE (+1)3:46 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 0 for 2 Thursday as the Boston Red Sox beat the Miami Marlins 5-3. He's now batting .206 with five home runs this season.
Sep. 16 7:21 PM PT8:21 PM MT9:21 PM CT10:21 PM ET22:21 ET2:21 GMT10:21 7:21 PM MST9:21 PM EST8:21 PM CST9:51 PM VEN6:21 UAE (+1)9:21 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 2 for 4 with a home run and three RBIs Wednesday as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Miami Marlins 8-4. He's now batting .208 with five home runs this season.
Sep. 15 6:50 PM PT7:50 PM MT8:50 PM CT9:50 PM ET21:50 ET1:50 GMT9:50 6:50 PM MST8:50 PM EST7:50 PM CST9:20 PM VEN5:50 UAE (+1)8:50 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 0 for 3 Tuesday as the Boston Red Sox beat the Miami Marlins 2-0. He's now batting .201 with four home runs this season.
Sep. 13 1:24 PM PT2:24 PM MT3:24 PM CT4:24 PM ET16:24 ET20:24 GMT4:24 1:24 PM MST3:24 PM EST2:24 PM CST3:54 PM VEN0:24 UAE (+1)3:24 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 1 for 5 with an RBI Sunday as the Boston Red Sox beat the Tampa Bay Rays 6-3. He's now batting .205 with four home runs this season.
Sep. 12 6:22 PM PT7:22 PM MT8:22 PM CT9:22 PM ET21:22 ET1:22 GMT9:22 6:22 PM MST8:22 PM EST7:22 PM CST8:52 PM VEN5:22 UAE (+1)8:22 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 0 for 4 Saturday as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 5-4. He's now batting .205 with four home runs this season.
Sep. 10 7:12 PM PT8:12 PM MT9:12 PM CT10:12 PM ET22:12 ET2:12 GMT10:12 7:12 PM MST9:12 PM EST8:12 PM CST9:42 PM VEN6:12 UAE (+1)9:12 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 0 for 4 Thursday as the Boston Red Sox topped the Tampa Bay Rays 4-3. He's now batting .211 with four home runs this season.
Sep. 8 7:23 PM PT8:23 PM MT9:23 PM CT10:23 PM ET22:23 ET2:23 GMT10:23 7:23 PM MST9:23 PM EST8:23 PM CST9:53 PM VEN6:23 UAE (+1)9:23 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 0 for 4 Tuesday as the Boston Red Sox topped the Philadelphia Phillies 5-2. He's now batting .216 with four home runs this season.
Sep. 8 3:58 PM PT4:58 PM MT5:58 PM CT6:58 PM ET18:58 ET22:58 GMT6:58 3:58 PM MST5:58 PM EST4:58 PM CST6:28 PM VEN2:58 UAE (+1)5:58 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 0 for 3 Tuesday as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 6-5. He's now batting .222 with four home runs this season.
Sep. 6 3:08 PM PT4:08 PM MT5:08 PM CT6:08 PM ET18:08 ET22:08 GMT6:08 3:08 PM MST5:08 PM EST4:08 PM CST5:38 PM VEN2:08 UAE (+1)5:08 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 0 for 5 Sunday as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 10-8. He's now batting .227 with four home runs this season.
Sep. 5 8:20 PM PT9:20 PM MT10:20 PM CT11:20 PM ET23:20 ET3:20 GMT11:20 8:20 PM MST10:20 PM EST9:20 PM CST10:50 PM VEN7:20 UAE (+1)10:20 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 2 for 3 with a home run and an RBI Saturday as the Boston Red Sox topped the Toronto Blue Jays 9-8. He's now batting .235 with four home runs this season.
Sep. 4 3:58 PM PT4:58 PM MT5:58 PM CT6:58 PM ET18:58 ET22:58 GMT6:58 3:58 PM MST5:58 PM EST4:58 PM CST6:28 PM VEN2:58 UAE (+1)5:58 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 0 for 4 Friday as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 8-7. He's now batting .226 with three home runs this season.
Sep. 3 8:38 PM PT9:38 PM MT10:38 PM CT11:38 PM ET23:38 ET3:38 GMT11:38 8:38 PM MST10:38 PM EST9:38 PM CST11:08 PM VEN7:38 UAE (+1)10:38 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 3 for 5 with a double Thursday as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 6-2. He's now batting .233 with three home runs this season.
Sep. 2 7:34 PM PT8:34 PM MT9:34 PM CT10:34 PM ET22:34 ET2:34 GMT10:34 7:34 PM MST9:34 PM EST8:34 PM CST10:04 PM VEN6:34 UAE (+1)9:34 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 2 for 4 with a double and two RBIs Wednesday as the Boston Red Sox fell to the Atlanta Braves 7-5. He's now batting .218 with three home runs this season.
Aug. 30 2:05 PM PT3:05 PM MT4:05 PM CT5:05 PM ET17:05 ET21:05 GMT5:05 2:05 PM MST4:05 PM EST3:05 PM CST4:35 PM VEN1:05 UAE (+1)4:05 PM CT-Martinez is back in Boston's lineup Wednesday after leaving Sunday's game against Washington after being hit by a pitch on his left hand.
Analysis: X-rays on Martinez's hand did come up negative and the Red Sox are calling him day to day. The highly-paid slugger is batting a disappointing .208 with three home runs this season.
Aug. 29 8:01 PM PT9:01 PM MT10:01 PM CT11:01 PM ET23:01 ET3:01 GMT11:01 8:01 PM MST10:01 PM EST9:01 PM CST10:31 PM VEN7:01 UAE (+1)10:01 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 1 for 4 with a double Saturday as the Boston Red Sox topped the Washington Nationals 5-3. Martinez scored once. He's now batting .207 with three home runs this season.
Aug. 28 7:56 PM PT8:56 PM MT9:56 PM CT10:56 PM ET22:56 ET2:56 GMT10:56 7:56 PM MST9:56 PM EST8:56 PM CST10:26 PM VEN6:56 UAE (+1)9:56 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 0 for 4 Friday as the Boston Red Sox fell to the Washington Nationals 10-2. He's now batting .205 with three home runs this season.
Aug. 26 6:39 PM PT7:39 PM MT8:39 PM CT9:39 PM ET21:39 ET1:39 GMT9:39 6:39 PM MST8:39 PM EST7:39 PM CST9:09 PM VEN5:39 UAE (+1)8:39 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 0 for 3 Wednesday as the Boston Red Sox fell to the Toronto Blue Jays 9-1. He's now batting .213 with three home runs this season.
Aug. 25 7:25 PM PT8:25 PM MT9:25 PM CT10:25 PM ET22:25 ET2:25 GMT10:25 7:25 PM MST9:25 PM EST8:25 PM CST9:55 PM VEN6:25 UAE (+1)9:25 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 0 for 4 with an RBI Tuesday as the Boston Red Sox topped the Toronto Blue Jays 9-7. He's now batting .219 with three home runs this season.
Aug. 23 1:26 PM PT2:26 PM MT3:26 PM CT4:26 PM ET16:26 ET20:26 GMT4:26 1:26 PM MST3:26 PM EST2:26 PM CST3:56 PM VEN0:26 UAE (+1)3:26 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 0 for 3 Sunday as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Baltimore Orioles 5-4. He's now batting .228 with three home runs this season.
Aug. 22 8:18 PM PT9:18 PM MT10:18 PM CT11:18 PM ET23:18 ET3:18 GMT11:18 8:18 PM MST10:18 PM EST9:18 PM CST10:48 PM VEN7:18 UAE (+1)10:18 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 1 for 3 Saturday as the Boston Red Sox fell to the Baltimore Orioles 5-4. He's now batting .235 with three home runs this season.
Aug. 21 7:42 PM PT8:42 PM MT9:42 PM CT10:42 PM ET22:42 ET2:42 GMT10:42 7:42 PM MST9:42 PM EST8:42 PM CST10:12 PM VEN6:42 UAE (+1)9:42 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 1 for 4 with a home run and two RBIs Friday as the Boston Red Sox topped the Baltimore Orioles 8-5. He's now batting .232 with three home runs this season.
Aug. 20 8:05 PM PT9:05 PM MT10:05 PM CT11:05 PM ET23:05 ET3:05 GMT11:05 8:05 PM MST10:05 PM EST9:05 PM CST10:35 PM VEN7:05 UAE (+1)10:05 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 0 for 5 Thursday as the Boston Red Sox beat the Baltimore Orioles 7-1. Martinez scored once. He's now batting .231 with two home runs this season.
Aug. 19 9:44 AM PT10:44 AM MT11:44 AM CT12:44 PM ET12:44 ET16:44 GMT0:44 9:44 AM MST11:44 AM EST10:44 AM CST12:14 PM VEN20:44 UAE11:44 AM CT-Martinez (dehydration) is back in the lineup Thursday against the Orioles.
Analysis: Martinez didn't play Wednesday against the Phillies after exiting Tuesday's game early.
Aug. 18 8:44 PM PT9:44 PM MT10:44 PM CT11:44 PM ET23:44 ET3:44 GMT11:44 8:44 PM MST10:44 PM EST9:44 PM CST11:14 PM VEN7:44 UAE (+1)10:44 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 1 for 2 with a double and an RBI Tuesday as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 13-6. He's now batting .244 with two home runs this season.
Analysis: Martinez left the game with dehydration.
Aug. 17 8:20 PM PT9:20 PM MT10:20 PM CT11:20 PM ET23:20 ET3:20 GMT11:20 8:20 PM MST10:20 PM EST9:20 PM CST10:50 PM VEN7:20 UAE (+1)10:20 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 1 for 4 Monday as the Boston Red Sox fell to the New York Yankees 6-3. Martinez scored once. He's now batting .238 with two home runs this season.
Aug. 16 7:16 PM PT8:16 PM MT9:16 PM CT10:16 PM ET22:16 ET2:16 GMT10:16 7:16 PM MST9:16 PM EST8:16 PM CST9:46 PM VEN6:16 UAE (+1)9:16 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 1 for 3 Sunday as the Boston Red Sox lost to the New York Yankees 4-2. He's now batting .238 with two home runs this season.
Aug. 15 7:17 PM PT8:17 PM MT9:17 PM CT10:17 PM ET22:17 ET2:17 GMT10:17 7:17 PM MST9:17 PM EST8:17 PM CST9:47 PM VEN6:17 UAE (+1)9:17 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 2 for 4 with two RBIs Saturday as the Boston Red Sox fell to the New York Yankees 11-5. He's now batting .234 with two home runs this season.
Aug. 14 7:48 PM PT8:48 PM MT9:48 PM CT10:48 PM ET22:48 ET2:48 GMT10:48 7:48 PM MST9:48 PM EST8:48 PM CST10:18 PM VEN6:48 UAE (+1)9:48 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 0 for 4 Friday as the Boston Red Sox fell to the New York Yankees 10-3. He's now batting .219 with two home runs this season.
Aug. 13 5:18 PM PT6:18 PM MT7:18 PM CT8:18 PM ET20:18 ET0:18 GMT8:18 5:18 PM MST7:18 PM EST6:18 PM CST7:48 PM VEN4:18 UAE (+1)7:18 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 1 for 2 with a double and an RBI Thursday as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 17-8. Martinez scored twice. He's now batting .232 with two home runs this season.
Aug. 12 7:33 PM PT8:33 PM MT9:33 PM CT10:33 PM ET22:33 ET2:33 GMT10:33 7:33 PM MST9:33 PM EST8:33 PM CST10:03 PM VEN6:33 UAE (+1)9:33 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 1 for 4 with a home run and four RBIs Wednesday as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 9-5. He's now batting .224 with two home runs this season.
Aug. 11 8:03 PM PT9:03 PM MT10:03 PM CT11:03 PM ET23:03 ET3:03 GMT11:03 8:03 PM MST10:03 PM EST9:03 PM CST10:33 PM VEN7:03 UAE (+1)10:03 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 0 for 3 Tuesday as the Boston Red Sox fell to the Tampa Bay Rays 8-2. He's now batting .222 with one home run this season.
Aug. 11 9:00 PM PT10:00 PM MT11:00 PM CT12:00 AM ET0:00 ET4:00 GMT12:00 9:00 PM MST11:00 PM EST10:00 PM CST11:30 PM VEN8:00 UAE11:00 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 3 for 4 with a home run and an RBI Monday as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 8-7. Martinez scored twice. He's now batting .233 with one home run this season.
Aug. 9 1:27 PM PT2:27 PM MT3:27 PM CT4:27 PM ET16:27 ET20:27 GMT4:27 1:27 PM MST3:27 PM EST2:27 PM CST3:57 PM VEN0:27 UAE (+1)3:27 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 0 for 4 Sunday as the Boston Red Sox beat the Toronto Blue Jays 5-3. He's now batting .196 with no home runs this season.
Aug. 8 7:54 PM PT8:54 PM MT9:54 PM CT10:54 PM ET22:54 ET2:54 GMT10:54 7:54 PM MST9:54 PM EST8:54 PM CST10:24 PM VEN6:54 UAE (+1)9:54 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 0 for 3 Saturday as the Boston Red Sox fell to the Toronto Blue Jays 2-1. He's now batting .212 with no home runs this season.
Aug. 7 8:16 PM PT9:16 PM MT10:16 PM CT11:16 PM ET23:16 ET3:16 GMT11:16 8:16 PM MST10:16 PM EST9:16 PM CST10:46 PM VEN7:16 UAE (+1)10:16 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 0 for 4 Friday as the Boston Red Sox topped the Toronto Blue Jays 5-3. He's now batting .224 with no home runs this season.
Aug. 5 6:50 PM PT7:50 PM MT8:50 PM CT9:50 PM ET21:50 ET1:50 GMT9:50 6:50 PM MST8:50 PM EST7:50 PM CST9:20 PM VEN5:50 UAE (+1)8:50 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 1 for 5 with a double Wednesday as the Boston Red Sox beat the Tampa Bay Rays 5-0. He's now batting .244 with no home runs this season.
Aug. 4 6:58 PM PT7:58 PM MT8:58 PM CT9:58 PM ET21:58 ET1:58 GMT9:58 6:58 PM MST8:58 PM EST7:58 PM CST9:28 PM VEN5:58 UAE (+1)8:58 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 2 for 4 with two doubles Tuesday as the Boston Red Sox fell to the Tampa Bay Rays 5-1. He's now batting .250 with no home runs this season.
July 31 7:21 PM PT8:21 PM MT9:21 PM CT10:21 PM ET22:21 ET2:21 GMT10:21 7:21 PM MST9:21 PM EST8:21 PM CST9:51 PM VEN6:21 UAE (+1)9:21 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 0 for 3 Friday as the Boston Red Sox fell to the New York Yankees 5-1. He's now batting .219 with no home runs this season.
July 30 8:05 PM PT9:05 PM MT10:05 PM CT11:05 PM ET23:05 ET3:05 GMT11:05 8:05 PM MST10:05 PM EST9:05 PM CST10:35 PM VEN7:05 UAE (+1)10:05 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 1 for 5 Thursday as the Boston Red Sox beat the New York Mets 4-2. He's now batting .241 with no home runs this season.
July 29 7:58 PM PT8:58 PM MT9:58 PM CT10:58 PM ET22:58 ET2:58 GMT10:58 7:58 PM MST9:58 PM EST8:58 PM CST10:28 PM VEN6:58 UAE (+1)9:58 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 1 for 4 with a double Wednesday as the Boston Red Sox beat the New York Mets 6-5. Martinez scored once. He's now batting .250 with no home runs this season.
July 28 7:34 PM PT8:34 PM MT9:34 PM CT10:34 PM ET22:34 ET2:34 GMT10:34 7:34 PM MST9:34 PM EST8:34 PM CST10:04 PM VEN6:34 UAE (+1)9:34 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 0 for 4 Tuesday as the Boston Red Sox lost to the New York Mets 8-3. He's now batting .250 with no home runs this season.
July 27 7:49 PM PT8:49 PM MT9:49 PM CT10:49 PM ET22:49 ET2:49 GMT10:49 7:49 PM MST9:49 PM EST8:49 PM CST10:19 PM VEN6:49 UAE (+1)9:49 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 0 for 3 Monday as the Boston Red Sox lost to the New York Mets 7-4. Martinez scored once. He's now batting .313 with no home runs this season.
July 26 1:54 PM PT2:54 PM MT3:54 PM CT4:54 PM ET16:54 ET20:54 GMT4:54 1:54 PM MST3:54 PM EST2:54 PM CST4:24 PM VEN0:54 UAE (+1)3:54 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 0 for 4 Sunday as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Baltimore Orioles 7-4. He's now batting .385 with no home runs this season.
July 25 1:47 PM PT2:47 PM MT3:47 PM CT4:47 PM ET16:47 ET20:47 GMT4:47 1:47 PM MST3:47 PM EST2:47 PM CST4:17 PM VEN0:47 UAE (+1)3:47 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 2 for 4 Saturday as the Boston Red Sox fell to the Baltimore Orioles 7-2. He's now batting .556 with no home runs this season.
July 24 7:57 PM PT8:57 PM MT9:57 PM CT10:57 PM ET22:57 ET2:57 GMT10:57 7:57 PM MST9:57 PM EST8:57 PM CST10:27 PM VEN6:57 UAE (+1)9:57 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 3 for 5 with two doubles and three RBIs Friday as the Boston Red Sox topped the Baltimore Orioles 13-2. Martinez scored twice. He's now batting .600 with no home runs this season.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2011 Hou 53 208 29 57 13 0 6 35 13 48 0 1 .274 .319 .423
2012 Hou 113 395 34 95 14 3 11 55 40 96 0 2 .241 .311 .375
2013 Hou 86 296 24 74 17 0 7 36 10 82 2 0 .250 .272 .378
2014 Det 123 441 57 139 30 3 23 76 30 126 6 3 .315 .358 .553
2015 Det 158 596 93 168 33 2 38 102 53 178 3 2 .282 .344 .535
2016 Det 120 460 69 141 35 2 22 68 49 128 1 2 .307 .373 .535
2017 Det 57 200 38 61 13 2 16 39 29 54 2 0 .305 .388 .630
2017 Ari 62 232 47 70 13 1 29 65 24 74 2 0 .302 .366 .741
2017 Tot 119 432 85 131 26 3 45 104 53 128 4 0 .303 .376 .690
2018 Bos 150 569 111 188 37 2 43 130 69 146 6 1 .330 .402 .629
2019 Bos 146 575 98 175 33 2 36 105 72 138 2 0 .304 .383 .557
2020 Bos 45 170 16 35 13 0 5 22 20 48 0 0 .206 .294 .371
Career 1113 4142 616 1203 251 17 236 733 409 1118 24 11 .290 .354 .530

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2014 Det Total 6 24 4 6 2 0 4 10 0 8 0 0 .250 .250 .833
    LDS 3 12 2 3 1 0 2 5 0 4 0 0 .250 .250 .833
2017 Ari Total 8 30 4 8 0 0 2 2 2 12 0 0 .267 .313 .467
    WC 1 4 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 2 0 0 .000 .200 .000
    LDS 3 11 1 4 0 0 1 1 0 4 0 0 .364 .364 .636
2018 Bos Total 28 100 12 30 4 0 6 28 20 22 0 2 .300 .403 .520
    LDS 4 14 1 5 0 0 1 6 3 0 0 0 .357 .421 .571
    LCS 5 18 3 5 1 0 1 3 4 4 0 0 .278 .409 .500
    WS 5 18 2 5 1 0 1 5 3 7 0 1 .278 .381 .500
Career 21 77 10 22 3 0 6 20 11 21 0 1 .286 .367 .558


Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2020 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFORM is strictly prohibited.