Sports News

MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#52
Mike Clevinger
ERA W-L K
3.02 3-2 40
Team: San DiegoHt / Wt: 6-4 / 215
Position: SPBorn: 12/21/1990 Birthplace: Jacksonville, Florida
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 4th Round by Angels (2011)


Latest News
Nov. 16 4:52 PM PT5:52 PM MT6:52 PM CT7:52 PM ET19:52 ET0:52 GMT8:52 5:52 PM MST7:52 PM EST6:52 PM CST8:22 PM VEN4:52 UAE (+1)6:52 PM CT-The Padres announced that Clevinger will undergo Tommy John surgery and will miss the entire 2021 season.
Analysis: Clevinger also agreed to a two-year, $11.5 million contract to avoid arbitration, and he'll spend the first year of the deal rehabbing his troublesome elbow. An injury limited the right-hander to just one inning pitched during the Padres' postseason run last month, and he had been expected to be one of the anchors of the team's 2021 rotation.
Oct. 6 7:52 PM PT8:52 PM MT9:52 PM CT10:52 PM ET22:52 ET2:52 GMT10:52 7:52 PM MST9:52 PM EST8:52 PM CST10:22 PM VEN6:52 UAE (+1)9:52 PM CT-Clevinger was replaced on San Diego's playoff roster Wednesday because of his elbow injury, a move that would keep him from pitching again this postseason unless the Padres make it to the World Series. That would also depend on if his ailing right elbow is healthy enough to get back on the mound in October after he went only two pitches into the second inning of the NL Division Series opener against the Los Angeles Dodgers on Tuesday night.
Analysis: Clevinger left his final regular season start Sept. 23 after one inning because of an elbow impingement. He was left off the roster for the wild-card round against St. Louis. Clevinger was making only his second start since a two-hit shutout in a seven-inning complete game Sept. 13. He was 2-1 with a 2.84 ERA in four starts for the Padres in September.
Sep. 23 2:25 PM PT3:25 PM MT4:25 PM CT5:25 PM ET17:25 ET21:25 GMT5:25 2:25 PM MST4:25 PM EST3:25 PM CST4:55 PM VEN1:25 UAE (+1)4:25 PM CT-Clevinger (right elbow impingement) will start Game 1 of the NLDS against the Dodgers on Tuesday.
Analysis: Clevinger was not on the Padres' roster for the opening round against the Cardinals. He went 2-1 with a 2.84 ERA in four starts with San Diego after being acquired from the Indians.
Sep. 21 10:49 PM PT11:49 PM MT12:49 AM CT1:49 AM ET1:49 ET5:49 GMT13:49 10:49 PM MST12:49 AM EST11:49 PM CST1:19 AM VEN9:49 UAE12:49 AM CT-Clevinger, who was scratched from Saturday's scheduled start with tightness in his right biceps, is slated to throw a bullpen session Monday. If all goes well, he could start Wednesday against the Angels.
Analysis: The Padres are counting on Clevinger for the upcoming playoffs, so it's good news that he's not dealing with any longer-term issues. The right-hander has posted solid numbers for both Cleveland and San Diego this season, as he's 3-2 with a 3.10 ERA and a 1.18 WHIP in seven starts.
Sep. 13 3:24 PM PT4:24 PM MT5:24 PM CT6:24 PM ET18:24 ET22:24 GMT6:24 3:24 PM MST5:24 PM EST4:24 PM CST5:54 PM VEN2:24 UAE (+1)5:24 PM CT-Mike Clevinger improved to 3-2, allowing two hits and one walk over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the San Diego Padres defeated the San Francisco Giants 6-0 on Sunday. Clevinger struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.10 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 9 9:30 PM PT10:30 PM MT11:30 PM CT12:30 AM ET0:30 ET4:30 GMT12:30 9:30 PM MST11:30 PM EST10:30 PM CST12:00 AM VEN8:30 UAE11:30 PM CT-Mike Clevinger improved to 2-2, allowing four runs on five hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the San Diego Padres defeated the Colorado Rockies 14-5 on Tuesday. Clevinger struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.74 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 3 6:55 PM PT7:55 PM MT8:55 PM CT9:55 PM ET21:55 ET1:55 GMT9:55 6:55 PM MST8:55 PM EST7:55 PM CST9:25 PM VEN5:55 UAE (+1)8:55 PM CT-Mike Clevinger fell to 1-2, allowing two runs on seven hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the San Diego Padres lost to the Los Angeles Angels 2-0 on Thursday. Clevinger struck out two, ending the game with a 3.14 ERA and 1.36 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 26 7:29 PM PT8:29 PM MT9:29 PM CT10:29 PM ET22:29 ET2:29 GMT10:29 7:29 PM MST9:29 PM EST8:29 PM CST9:59 PM VEN6:29 UAE (+1)9:29 PM CT-Mike Clevinger allowed two runs on eight hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the Cleveland Indians defeated the Minnesota Twins 6-3 on Wednesday. Clevinger struck out six, ending the game with a 3.18 ERA and 1.37 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 11 2:32 PM PT3:32 PM MT4:32 PM CT5:32 PM ET17:32 ET21:32 GMT5:32 2:32 PM MST4:32 PM EST3:32 PM CST5:02 PM VEN1:32 UAE (+1)4:32 PM CT-Clevinger will pitch Wednesday for the first time since breaking team rules and Major League Baseball COVID-19 protocols and being demoted for 10 days.
Analysis: Clevinger will return and pitch the series finale against the AL Central-leading Minnesota Twins. The right-hander last pitched on Aug. 5 at Cincinnati. Three days later, he and Zach Plesac violated the team's code of conduct by going out to dinner and risking exposure to the coronavirus. The actions of the free-spirited Clevinger drew the wrath of teammates, who expressed their unhappiness with him and Plesac during at a team meeting in Detroit.
Aug. 10 5:41 PM PT6:41 PM MT7:41 PM CT8:41 PM ET20:41 ET0:41 GMT8:41 5:41 PM MST7:41 PM EST6:41 PM CST8:11 PM VEN4:41 UAE (+1)7:41 PM CT-Clevinger will be placed in quarantine after violating COVID-19 protocols during the Indians' trip to Chicago this past weekend. He was scheduled to start Tuesday against the Cubs.
Analysis: The Indians are now down two starting pitchers in the short term after the team sent Zach Plesac home Sunday after he went out with friends in Chicago after his outing on Saturday. Adam Plutko, who went 7-5 with a 4.64 ERA in 20 starts last season, will fill in for Clevinger on Tuesday.
Aug. 5 7:12 PM PT8:12 PM MT9:12 PM CT10:12 PM ET22:12 ET2:12 GMT10:12 7:12 PM MST9:12 PM EST8:12 PM CST9:42 PM VEN6:12 UAE (+1)9:12 PM CT-Mike Clevinger improved to 1-1, allowing two hits and five walks over 5.2 scoreless innings, as the Cleveland Indians defeated the Cincinnati Reds 2-0 on Wednesday. Clevinger struck out four, ending the game with a 3.24 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
July 31 8:21 PM PT9:21 PM MT10:21 PM CT11:21 PM ET23:21 ET3:21 GMT11:21 8:21 PM MST10:21 PM EST9:21 PM CST10:51 PM VEN7:21 UAE (+1)10:21 PM CT-Mike Clevinger fell to 0-1, allowing four runs on six hits and five walks in 4.0 innings, as the Cleveland Indians lost to the Minnesota Twins 4-1 on Friday. Clevinger struck out five, ending the game with a 4.91 ERA and 1.36 WHIP on the season.
July 25 5:06 PM PT6:06 PM MT7:06 PM CT8:06 PM ET20:06 ET0:06 GMT8:06 5:06 PM MST7:06 PM EST6:06 PM CST7:36 PM VEN4:06 UAE (+1)7:06 PM CT-Mike Clevinger allowed two runs on four hits in 7.0 innings as the Cleveland Indians lost to the Kansas City Royals 3-2 on Saturday. Clevinger struck out six, ending the game with a 2.57 ERA and 0.57 WHIP on the season.
Feb. 14 12:22 PM PT1:22 PM MT2:22 PM CT3:22 PM ET15:22 ET20:22 GMT4:22 1:22 PM MST3:22 PM EST2:22 PM CST3:52 PM VEN0:22 UAE (+1)2:22 PM CT-Clevinger (torn meniscus) said he's fully healthy.
Analysis: Clevinger will hold down a key role in Cleveland's rotation after an excellent 2019 campaign in which he went 13-4 with a 2.71 ERA in 21 starts and struck out 169 batters in 126 innings.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2016 Cle 3 3 0 - 0 17 10 0 53.0 50 31 31 8 29 0 50 1.49 5.26
2017 Cle 12 6 0 - 0 27 21 0 121.2 92 46 42 13 60 2 137 1.25 3.11
2018 Cle 13 8 0 - 0 32 32 1 200.0 164 71 67 21 67 0 207 1.16 3.02
2019 Cle 13 4 0 - 0 21 21 0 126.0 96 38 38 10 37 0 169 1.06 2.71
2020 Cle 1 1 0 - 0 4 4 0 22.2 20 8 8 5 11 0 21 1.37 3.18
2020 SD 2 1 0 - 0 4 4 1 19.0 14 6 6 1 3 0 19 0.89 2.84
2020 Tot 3 2 0 - 0 8 8 1 41.2 34 14 14 6 14 0 40 1.15 3.02
Career 44 23 0 - 0 105 92 2 542.1 436 200 192 58 207 2 603 1.19 3.19

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2016 Cle 17 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2017 Cle 27 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2018 Cle 32 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2019 Cle 21 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 105 10 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 6 0 0 .000 .000 .000

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2016 Cle Total 0 0 0 - 0 8 0 0 11.1 6 6 6 2 10 0 6 4.76
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.2 1 1 1 0 1 0 1 5.40
    WS 0 0 0 - 0 3 0 0 4.0 2 2 2 1 4 0 2 4.50
2017 Cle Total 0 0 0 - 0 4 0 0 2.2 4 6 4 2 8 0 6 13.50
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 1.1 2 3 2 1 4 0 3 13.50
2018 Cle Total 0 0 0 - 0 2 2 0 10.0 6 2 2 2 6 0 18 1.80
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 3 1 1 1 3 0 9 1.80
2020 SD Total 0 0 0 - 0 2 2 0 2.0 0 0 0 0 6 0 2 0.00
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 1.0 0 0 0 0 3 0 1 0.00
Career 0 0 0 - 0 8 2 0 13.0 8 7 6 3 15 0 16 4.15


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 259 98 92 95.2 39.97
Curveball 81 81 77 78.7 12.5
Slider 213 88 75 81.8 32.87
Changeup 54 90 84 87.3 8.33
Cut Fastball 41 91 84 88.3 6.33

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2020 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFORM is strictly prohibited.